Governing Body

The Governing Body is responsible for monitoring, evaluating and supporting the College in order to ensure that all our students receive the very best education possible. In this respect the governors act as ‘critical friends’ to the College. The members of our Governing Body bring a wide range of experience, qualifications and interest to the College, and are all volunteers, giving freely of their time to the ultimate benefit of our students.

The Governing Body

The Instrument of Government lays down the number of Governors on the Governing Body to be as follows:
10 Foundation Governors
3 Elected Parent Governors (elected by all parents)
1 Headteacher
1 Staff Governor (elected by College staff)
1 Nominated LA Governor
2 Co-Opted Governors
This totals 18 members.
The Governing Body is supported by the Clerk, who happens to be the College Manager.
All governors except the Headteacher hold office for a 4-year term. After this they may either stand down or seek to be re-elected or to be re-invited to serve for a further 4 years.
Foundation governors are appointed by the College trustees.
Where governors are elected, a formal process must be followed, starting with seeking correctly proposed and seconded nominations, followed by a secret ballot (if there are more nominations than vacancies), resulting in the election of individuals to the governing body. The Clerk to the Governing Body carries out all the above procedures.
Committees and sub-committees
The Governing Body is made up of all governors. Subordinate to this committee are several smaller sub-committees who consider specific aspects of the management of the College. At the College there are the following sub-committees:
a. Finance and General Purposes (F & GP) Committee. The F & GP committee closely monitors the finances of the College, as well as Premises matters.
b. Admissions Committee. This committee determines and applies the Admissions
Policy for the College.
c. Curriculum Committee. The Curriculum committee considers academic issues, in particular analysing exam results and ascertaining where improvements can be made.
d. Personnel Committee. This committee looks after staffing matters in the College, considering staffing and pay levels, and welfare and performance management of staff.

Meetings of the committees of the Governing Body

There is at least one meeting of the full governing body each term. This is usually sufficient to conduct routine business. However, there is the option to hold extraordinary meetings when required.
The Finance and General Purposes Committee meets twice a term.
The Admissions Committee generally meets twice a year, once in November to consider admissions for the following year and again in January to finalise admissions for the following year.
The Curriculum Committee meets twice per year.
The Personnel Committee meets once in the autumn term and then as required.
Minutes are taken at all meetings.
Training for Governors – Governors are not expected to undertake the vital role that they perform without proper training and guidance, which is provided as necessary by Worcester County Council.

Current Members of the Full Governing Body

  • Mr Philip Carney – Foundation Governor Chair
  • Mrs Susan Girling – Foundation Governor Link Governor for SEND, Safeguarding & Prevent
  • Fr Brian McGinley – Foundation Governor, Link Governor CL/RE/CW
  • Mr Peter McHugh – Foundation Governor
  • Mr Paul De Jong – Foundation Governor
  • Mrs Clare Newman – Foundation Governor, Link Governor for Personal Development and Welfare
  • Vacancy – Foundation Governor
  • Mr David Barclay – Co-opted Governor Link Governor for Pupil Premium & LAC
  • Elected Parent – Vacancy
  • Mr Philip Fowler – Elected Parent, Link Governor for SEND
  • Ms Sharon Caldwell – Elected Parent, Link Governor for English
  • Mr Peter Cockcroft- Nominated LA Rep Link Governor for Curriculum
  • Mr Greg McClarey – Headteacher
  • Mr Paul Edmunds – Elected Staff Governor
  • Mr Danny McCormack – Co-Opted Governor Link Governor for Health and Safety
  • Mrs Margaret Thomas – College Manager Clerk to the Governing Body
  • Vacancy – Foundation Governor
  • Vacancy – Foundation Governor

Membership of Committees

Admissions Committee

Mr Greg McClarey (Chair)
Mr Danny McCormack
Miss Natasha Burney

Curriculum Committee

Mr Greg McClarey (Chair)
Mr Paul Edmunds
Mr David Barclay
Mr Peter Cockcroft
Mrs Sonya Thomas

Finance and General Purposes Committee

Mr Philip Carney
Mr Greg McClarey (Chair)
Mr Danny McCormack
Mr Peter McHugh     

Personnel Committee

Mr Philip Carney (Chair)
Mr Greg McClarey
Mr Peter McHugh   

Discipline Committee

Formed as required from available governors with the Chair being appointed at the meeting.


« Return